RSS

{Reading Challenge} The Romance of the Forest by Ann Radcliffe for The Classics Club | Spin Event #26

19 Apr
{Reading Challenge} The Romance of the Forest by Ann Radcliffe for The Classics Club | Spin Event #26

Yesterday, the Classics Club posted with the list number that had been drawn for their 26th Spin Event. The lucky-for-some number was 11.

This means I have drawn The Romance of the Forest by Ann Radliffe. All I have to do is read and review the book by Monday, 31st May 2021!

Why have I chosen The Romance of the Forest for the Classics Club reading challenge?

Partly because it was mentioned so many times in Jane Austen’s Emma as an implicit example of a book that she thought was silly. Partly because one a friend gave me her copy when she emigrated and I miss her.


Any expectations?

I think it will be a little wild: like Castle of Otranto or one of those sorts of gothic novels. I believe I will either or loathe it, but it will make for an interesting read!

The main question in my mind is: who should I pass the copy on to after I have finished reading it? I feel bad about joining the rush of people passing piles of things on to newly-opened charity shops and worry that it will just be binned/ sent to landfill. It would be good if it could find a home somewhere.

So that’s it for now! Happy classics reading if you’re a Classics Club member who’s moseyed on over from their blog. Happy reading to the rest of you!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 19, 2021 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Speak your mind!