RSS

{Readathon Wrap Up} The London Bookshop Crawl – 2nd April- 5th April 2021

09 Apr

Apologies for the late post about this. Last month I changed internet provider and have been repaid for this with a month of intermittent internet. It’s been down for several days now, and I’m at my wits’ end.

Over the last Bank Holiday weekend, I participated in The London Bookshop Crawl’s Readathon. I went into it with heady hopes of reading 5 books as mentioned in my introduction. Then life happened, and I got distracted by a book a friend sent in the post and spent a day reading that instead.


Instead of Silver Candlesticks, I read Hello World by Hannah Fry. Review here.

I read the first 6 short stories (of 10) from Unfilled Graves by Ah Cheng (review here too. Curse you, non-existent internet) instead of the whole book, but felt that by savouring them slowly and re-reading a couple, I gained a marginally better understanding of the stories.

The American Duchess Guide to 18th Century Beauty book was incredibly short, yet informative. I almost hesitate to mention it as I did not make any of the recipes or patterns from the book, but feel that I should include it here for posterity.

The prevalence of tallow in a lot of the recipes has put me off trying many of the suggestions. No matter how badly I want to make pink hair pomade, I’m going to have to give it a pass for now. Instead I’ll keep my eye out for some information on how to make veggie-/ vegan-friendly alternatives and try them at a later date.

It was a fun self-challenge, but the lack of other people taking part did leach some of the excitement from it (although with my 1 day of internet over that weekend I may have missed out on some social events…). Hopefully next year there’ll be better internet, and more participants with whom to share book geekery!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 9, 2021 in 2021 Challenges

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Speak your mind!