RSS

WWW Wednesdays:

09 Jul


Happy Wednesday, world!

Thanks shouldbereading for hosting this awesome meme!

I’ve just realised that apart from the odd review, I don’t really talk about the books in my life. So ‘ere we go…

 

 

 

What are you currently reading?

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy.
It’s one of those books I’ve been meaning to read for donkeys’ years but never got hold of a copy until last night. I’ve just finished chapter 5 and am amazed at how readable it is (so far).

What did you recently finish reading?

Wintersmith by Terry Pratchett.
A fun, quick and easy read. It’s Pratchett, after all!

What do you think you’ll read next?

Temeraire by Naomi Novik.
Fantasy AND ships AND dragons? That’s me sold.

Feel free to post a shortlink to your WWW Wednesday and I’ll see what you’re reading. 🙂

 
11 Comments

Posted by on July 9, 2014 in Books, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “WWW Wednesdays:

  1. alenaslife

    July 9, 2014 at 13:00

    Ambitious reading. I hate to admit I’ve never read AK. It seems a long journey to take through a Russian winter. I am determined to try to read more classics, so I’ll await your final verdict. Thanks for stopping my my blog earlier! Wednesdays are a great community day.

     
    • wildnightin

      July 9, 2014 at 17:08

      It feels like it’s going to take a long time to get through it. Most of the people I know who’ve read it have said it’s worth it though, so hopefully it’ll be enjoyable.

      You’re welcome. 🙂 Wednesday does seem like a great community day for getting together and talking about books/ finding new titles to read.

       
  2. hollykerrauthor

    July 9, 2014 at 13:15

    I haven’t read Anna Karenina in years and decided last week it needs to go on my list of to-be-read!! Hope you like it!

     
    • wildnightin

      July 9, 2014 at 17:05

      Did you enjoy it when you last read it? So far I’m finding it a pleasant read but I’m afraid that I won’t remember all the characters names later on and get confused as to who’s who…

       
  3. cynthiagrstacey

    July 9, 2014 at 13:41

    I haven’t read any of these. Tolstoy is a bit too much for me I think…Hope you enjoy. Here is my WWW http://cynthiastacey.com/2014/07/09/www-wednesdays-july-9/

     
    • wildnightin

      July 9, 2014 at 17:01

      I’m nervous that the Tolstoy may prove a little much for me too because he has massive ‘cast lists’ at the start of each volume of the novel. I’m determined to try to get through it though.

      Pratchett’s books are fun for me to read because they refer to loads of other books and poke fun at parts of British culture in an affectionate way. Not sure how well those references translate for non-UK readers though. :/

       
  4. ChrissiReads

    July 9, 2014 at 16:30

    Good luck with Anna Karenina. It totally intimidated me! Here is my link: http://chrissireads.wordpress.com/2014/07/09/www-wednesday-77/

     
    • wildnightin

      July 9, 2014 at 16:49

      AK’s intimidating me too but I’ve got enough spare time over the summer to read it at my leisure, which has taken a lot of the pressure off.

       
  5. heartofsultana

    July 9, 2014 at 20:39

    How awesome that you’re reading Anna Karenina! I never have but it’s one I definitely intend on reading one day. Here’s my WWW 🙂 http://heartofsultana.com/2014/07/09/www-wednesday-7-9-14/

     
    • wildnightin

      July 9, 2014 at 20:58

      Yeah, I’ve been meaning to read Anna Karenina for 7 years now, so it’s been good to get started on it. 🙂

      Your WWW has the most amazing layout, by the way.

       
      • heartofsultana

        July 9, 2014 at 21:16

        I’m excited to see how you like it! And thank you!!

         

Speak your mind!

 
Flavia the Bibliophile

Book, TV, beauty reviews, and more!

An Armchair By The Sea

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Jesse Tavistock

Culture, Music, Life and Ideas

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Northwest Mamahood

Appreciate & Support Parenthood in the PNW

