RSS

European Reading Challenge 2014

24 Dec

A new post! Huzzah!

This one is about Rose City Reader’s European Challenge. I’ve done it once before, back in 2011 (my goodness, it’s hard to believe that so much time has passed) and really enjoyed it as it led to the exploration of entirely different shelves of the library.

The aim is to read and review a minimum of 1 book that’s either set in Europe (irrespective of where the author’s from), or whose author is from a country in Europe. And darn, are the authors of some countries prolific: it’s now estimated that 10% of all Icelanders have written and published a book at some point. A statistic that seems a little less improbable when you hear that in 2010 alone, 1,100 of new publications in Iceland were written by Icelanders (the country has around 320,000 inhabitants).

Pointless but shiny statistics are shiny. πŸ™‚

Just to keep things light and, well, not too daunting, I’m aiming for the ‘honeymooner’ level, which entails reviewing 4 books that comply with the above guidelines. That’s one book every 3 months, which is do-able.

My main aim is to get back into the habit of reading more widely as I do feel as though I’ve stagnated in the last 12 months- I’ve barely read 90 books that aren’t related to my course, which is slightly galling as in 2012, I managed 151. I shall conquer this, I shall!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 24, 2013 in 2014 Reading Challenges

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “European Reading Challenge 2014

  1. beckyday6

    December 26, 2013 at 22:52

    Ooooh this is a really cool idea, have fun! I have noticed lately that most of the books I read are either from the UK or America. There are a few exceptions in there like Australia and Sweden occasionally, but most of the time I am very predictable. πŸ˜›

     
    • wildnightin

      January 2, 2014 at 03:03

      It is brilliant and fun.

      Australian literature’s not something I’ve thought to read yet. Any particular books/ authors you recommend? I’ll read pretty much any genre except for the really dark stuff.

       
  2. rosecityreader

    December 29, 2013 at 20:32

    Welcome back! Thanks for signing up again.

     
    • wildnightin

      January 2, 2014 at 02:54

      Thanks for keeping this challenge going- it’ll be exciting to see what other people read for it. πŸ™‚

       

Speak your mind!

 
Flavia the Bibliophile

A blog about books, TV, movies, makeup, and travel!

An Armchair By The Sea

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

Clockwork Bibliophile

β€œReal life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Northwest Mamahood

Appreciate & Support Mamahood

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

