RSS

{Review} On Tangled Paths – Theodor Fontane

09 Jun
{Review} On Tangled Paths – Theodor Fontane

Review
First published in 1887, Irrungen, Wirrungen tells the story of two lovers who are doomed to never spend their lives together despite wanting to.

Although the theme was hardly a new one, even to contemporary readers, the way the story unfolds is beautiful- Fontane has a knack of leading the reader by the hand, showing and not telling the depths of the main characters’ feelings for one another.

Lene, the main female character says from the start that her relationship with Baron Botho cannot last. Instead of the couple fighting against tradition and society’s expectations, the pair of them whole-heartedly embrace said expectations. Later in the novel, a friend of Botho says that he is going to defy convention and marry the penniless love of his life. Botho replies that if he goes ahead with a marriage, it will bring misery to both of them in the long run as it goes against the status quo.

Don’t think for a moment that the love between Lene and Botho is a fleeting one.

Even after Botho’s marriage to ‘the right sort’ of woman, he notices Lene’s absence from his life. Even at the end, it is not certain whether or not he has let Lene go and embraced married life whole-heartedly.

Lene, despite seemingly being prepared for heartbreak from the start, is so distraught when she glimpses Botho and his happy, vivacious new bride from afar that she insists that she and her mother move house. It is only after this (and two years separation from Botho) that she starts to feel that she can love again.

Overall
An understated story that starts slowly and swells to a sad crescendo. Fans of Susan Ferrier’s, Ishiguro’s or Disraeli’s novels will like this one.

Read for Rose City Reader‘s European Reading Challenge, 2016.

Advertisements
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 9, 2016 in 2016 Reading Challenge

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Speak your mind!

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
Flavia the Bibliophile

A blog about books, TV, movies, makeup, and travel!

An Armchair By The Sea

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Northwest Mamahood

Appreciate & Support Mamahood

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

%d bloggers like this: