RSS

Post 15 – A character who you can relate to the most

16 Mar

As ever, thanks to Blogs of a Bookaholic for creating this challenge.

Golly gosh, this is another difficult question to answer. The only character I can think of who I can relate to is Pippi Longstocking.

Is that wrong?

I mean, I’m not saying that I have “the strength of 10 policemen”, am unable to read and write or that I’m a princess of a tropical island (especially not the last one- I’m not a fan of the Colonialist perspective, even when it appears in a nonsensical story). However there are a couple of similarities.

Firstly, I am intensely loyal to my friends. In the past, I’ve left places I’ve really wanted to be in order to spend time with a friend who’s texted or called to say they’re feeling sad or lonely. Also, whilst I do ridiculous and sometimes slightly dangerous things, such as spinning fire, hitch-hiking and accepting sweets from strangers (even now, in my twenties, strangers still offer me chocolate and sweets in the street and, like the 5 year-old I am, I accept and talk to them about their lives for a little) I would never let my friends get into any threatening or dangerous situations.

Secondly, whilst I don’t embellish tales about my travels, I will happily craft an exciting adventure story out of the closest words to hand (think goths in love cutting down trees in order to show their feelings for each other, “My love for you is beautiful, natural and decomposing little by little every day, Enyamina”. Or, “did you know that a spider created the first harp? Let me tell you about it. Well, one day in the cloud forest in Montezuma, I came across an angry crab spider…”).

There’s also a chest of drawers back at home that contains an assortment of interesting objects that I’ve collected, magpie style over years of adventures that I seem to get sucked into, even when I’m not looking for them. Sometimes they even come in useful. 🙂

So yes, that’s today’s post.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Post 15 – A character who you can relate to the most

  1. beckyday6

    March 16, 2014 at 12:34

    Pippi Longstocking, wow, what an intriguing answer! I’ve never seen anyone choose her before but I like your reasoning behind the choice. 🙂

     
    • wildnightin

      March 21, 2014 at 21:36

      Hehe! Thank you. 🙂 It was really fun to think about that one.

       

Speak your mind!

 
Flavia the Bibliophile

Book, TV, beauty reviews, and more!

An Armchair By The Sea

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Jesse Tavistock

Culture, Music, Life and Ideas

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Northwest Mamahood

Appreciate & Support Parenthood in the PNW

