RSS

Post 9 – Most overrated book

23 Feb

As ever, thanks to Blogs of a Bookaholic for creating this challenge.

My initial instinct was to groan about the Fifty Shades Trilogy or The Alchemist. Then I thought about it for a few minutes and remembered the book that left me feeling about as disappointed as Margery Tyrell on her wedding night to Renly Baratheon.

Allow me to present the one, the only, the (in my opinion) overrated Lady Chatterley’s Lover. And my issue with it is not just the sex scenes. In fact, my issue is more with the author than the text…

OK, so my main issue Lawrence is his rather Nazi view of what should be done to those weaker and worse off than him. In a letter, written in 1908 to Blanche Jennings, he said:

“If I had my way, I would build a lethal chamber as big as the Crystal Palace, with a military band playing softly, and a Cinematograph working brightly; then I’d go out in the back streets and main streets and bring them in, all the sick, the halt, and the maimed; I would lead them gently, and they would smile me a weary thanks; and the band would softly bubble out the “Hallelujah Chorus””

Whilst I know that one’s judgement of a piece of literature should not be coloured by one’s opinion of its author’s political ideology but that quote has somewhat coloured my opinion of him and, by extension, his work. The thing is that in Lady Chatterley’s Lover, Lawrence’s ideology does influence the text. He mocks and disparages those characters that he dislikes including Clifford, who belongs to ‘the maimed’, whom he wanted to dispose of earlier. As such, I feel vindicated in allowing my judgement of his ideology to colour my reading of the text.

If you catch my drift?

My second reason for finding this book over-rated is what some might refer to as “the inherent sexism of the text”. Whilst it has been called into question over recent years because of this letter, there are parts that still make me feel uncomfortable. Much in the same way that Blurred Lines makes me feel uncomfortable even though Robin Thicke has repeatedly stated that he believes that it’s ‘a feminist movement within itself‘.

If there hadn’t been so much furore surrounding the novel and the eventual ‘obscenity trial’, that further raised its profile, I do wonder if less people would know about it now and if it would have been excluded from a couple- not all, but one or two- ‘books you have to read before you die’ lists.

What do you think?

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Post 9 – Most overrated book

  1. beckyday6

    February 23, 2014 at 12:35

    I’ve come across so many people that were disappointing by The Alchemist considering it is considered to be such an ‘important’ book! It’s on a reading challenge I am currently attempting and you can bet I’m going to leave it until last at this rate. I’ve heard a lot about Fifty Shades too and have decided never to even open the front cover, lol. 🙂

    I have Lady Chatterley’s Lover to read, I’m a little worried now. :S Ha!

    Glad to see you are getting on so well with the challenge. 🙂

     
    • wildnightin

      February 23, 2014 at 13:44

      The reason I was so disappointed with ‘The Alchemist’ was that I’d just finished reading ‘Candide’ and ‘Zadig’ by Voltaire. All three have an almost identical format and deal with similar themes, with particular emphasis on the main character’s ‘self-discovery’. I felt that ‘The Alchemist’ didn’t contribute anything original to the genre and that really left me feeling… let down. I hope you enjoy ‘The Alchemist’ though. Some people swear that it’s turned their lives around, or at the very least that it’s a great read.

      Hehe, the Fifty Shades trilogy was an experience. O.o

      It’ll be interesting to see what you think of ‘Lady Chatterley’s Lover’ when you get around to reading it. 🙂

      Thanks again for the challenge. Need to up my game to finish before the end of March.

       
  2. Mona Gustafson Affinito

    February 23, 2014 at 17:07

    What’s really scary about this is the number of current elected officials who seem to share his point of view.

     
    • wildnightin

      February 24, 2014 at 10:53

      Agreed. It’s terrifying and saddening. 😦

       
      • Mona Gustafson Affinito

        February 24, 2014 at 19:46

        Thanks so much for noticing and agreeing. Strangely, it cheers me to know others share the awareness.

         

Speak your mind!

 
Flavia the Bibliophile

Book, TV, beauty reviews, and more!

An Armchair By The Sea

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Jesse Tavistock

Culture, Music, Life and Ideas

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Northwest Mamahood

Appreciate & Support Parenthood in the PNW

