RSS

Post 3: The longest book you’ve read

09 Jan

Thanks again to Blogs of a Bookaholic for creating this challenge.

For those of you who haven’t ever used goodreads, I heartily recommend it as the whole site is one big log of books that people have read, or are reading or intend to read but haven’t got round to doing. It allows you to compare books lists with people, find really obscure titles, read other peoples’ reviews and talk books with them; there’s even a forum where people arrange read-alongs with each other. 🙂 It also shows the stats of the books you’ve read, among them the length of the books you’ve read in pages. Which is pretty cool as it means that I’ve been able to find the longest book I’ve read with very little hassle and googling page-counts and things. Huzzah!

So thanks to goodreads, I’ve found out that the longest book I’ve ever read (at only 1,111 pages, which disappoints me a little- I need to read more chunksters) is Dance of Dragons by G.R.R. Martin.

I had a month-long wade-through of the Song of Ice and Fire series, and by the time I’d finished this book, which is the 5th in the series, I felt both happy and frustrated: the world he’s created is 3D but it’s left me with the fear that he’s created too many loose ends to tie up. Is the last book going to be like the last 15 minutes of the last Lord of The Rings film with endings upon endings? (Not that that was a problem as I didn’t want the film to finish 😛 )

It’s been 19 months since I finished the series, so I’m just going to mention the two lasting impressions this book’s left in my poor memory, one bad, one good.

Firstly, there is a lot of repetition of certain phrases in this series. Whilst everyone has an idiolect, it was so pronounced in DoD that I did wonder if perhaps a little editing would have helped to make some of the dialogue feel more realistic whilst not undermining the characterisation.

The second really lasting impression this book left was of the characters. Each one has distinct ways of behaving, of speaking and of being and this is not limited to the main characters as the minor ones also benefit from the same level of detail and characterisation. This in turn contributes to the richness of the world that’s been created and made it a worthwhile read.

Back to revision. There are two more weeks of exams left…

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Speak your mind!

 
Flavia the Bibliophile

Book reviews, and other bookish goodies.

An Armchair By The Sea

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Jesse Tavistock

Culture, Music, Life and Ideas

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Northwest Mamahood

Appreciate & Support Parenthood in the PNW

