RSS

Summer so soon has glided by

09 Sep

At the start of the summer, I had so many plans as to what I’d do over the last few months: read ‘World’ Literature by the shelf, learn the violin, travel, learn basic Polish, watch over 20 films… Basically making my last summer as a student as memorable and exciting as humanly possible!

As a result, I’ve not had an internet connection from mid-June to August and am only now starting to plug myself back into the ‘super info-highway’.

I’ll re-start posting on a regular basis from the start of next week: it’s been 5 years since we enjoyed such a perfect (relatively rain-free) summer in the U.K., so I’m loath to come inside and sit in front of the computer for any real length of time.

Keat’s Sonnet X expresses what I’m feeling so beautifully that I have to include it.

To one who has been long in city pent,
‘Tis very sweet to look into the fair
And open face of heaven,—to breathe a prayer
Full in the smile of the blue firmament.
Who is more happy, when, with heart’s content,
Fatigued he sinks into some pleasant lair
Of wavy grass, and reads a debonair
And gentle tale of love and languishment?
Returning home at evening, with an ear
Catching the notes of Philomel,—an eye
Watching the sailing cloudlet’s bright career,
He mourns that day so soon has glided by:
E’en like the passage of an angel’s tear
That falls through the clear ether silently.

Hope you’re all having superb summers! Looking forward to catching up on all your thought-provoking and fun blog posts.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Summer so soon has glided by

  1. Rhonda

    September 9, 2012 at 12:25

    Welcome Back!! Was so good to see you pop in. Glad you took the time to enjoy every moment of your summer. Looking forward to catching up.
    R

     
    • wildnightin

      September 11, 2012 at 09:32

      Thank you. 🙂 I’m looking forward to catching up too. How’s your summer going?

       
      • Rhonda

        September 11, 2012 at 12:40

        Funny summer…weather wise anyway. Fall is upon us and I’m thankful for it. Seems like I was busier than a one armed paper hanger, but for the life of me can’t think of a thing I got accomplished! Good to see you and catching up is hard…better to just start new. Trust me on that one. 🙂

         
  2. lizziloves

    September 9, 2012 at 22:37

    You should revisit this in a year, after our goal-setting today…..

     
    • wildnightin

      September 11, 2012 at 09:33

      That is a brillig idea. I need to put that list somewhere safe and keep referring back to it.

       
  3. exlibrisheather

    September 10, 2012 at 15:31

    I hope you had a great summer! It’s good to take a break every once in awhile! I think having “real-world” experiences will enhance your blog posts AND you’ll be more refreshed for the fall. 🙂

     
    • wildnightin

      September 11, 2012 at 09:34

      Thank you! I hope your summer was perfect too. 🙂 Yes, “real-world” experiences have given me a chance to re-charge my batteries in time for getting back to work.

       

Speak your mind!

 
Flavia the Bibliophile

Book reviews, and other bookish goodies.

An Armchair By The Sea

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Jesse Tavistock

Culture, Music, Life and Ideas

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Northwest Mamahood

Appreciate & Support Parenthood in the PNW

