RSS

{Summary} Cultural Buffet Challenge – Week One

30 May

First of all, I’d like to say thanks to Synthesist Chronicles and The Lupine Librarian for their recommendations. 🙂

Notes
This week has been quite exciting: after months of studying and revising, I can sit in the shade with a big bottle of water and a croissant and read for as long as I want. I can take as much time as I like to read the same paragraph or poem several times and I can get as carried away with making notes as I like without being crippled by guilt for not sticking to my daily schedule.

The only downside is that my mind’s whirling with so many concepts and ideas that every time I sit down to write a review, I only manage up to type a hundred words or so before my eyes stray back to a book or a film or my Polish vocabulary book.

So, I’ll start putting reviews up for the asterisked books in the next few days.

If you’d like me to review a particular book or film on the list, just ask. 🙂

Books Read This Week
1) The Prince – Machiavelli *
2) The Age of Innocence – Wharton *
3) The Spectacular Group Suicide – Paasilinna *
4) Sonietchka – Ulitskaya
5) Broadmoor Revealed: Victorian Crime and the Lunatic Asylum – Stevens
6) The Character of Rain – Nothomb *
7) The Gourmand – Barbery *
8) Travels Around Kazakhstan: After the fall of the Soviet Union – Deonna *
9) The Spellman Files – Lutz
10) Water for Elephants – Gruen
11) Italian Shoes – Mankell (re-read)

Films/ Series Seen
1) Dark Shadows
2) Things to Do Before You’re 30
3) The Bridge (series)
4) Medieval Lives (series) *

And I’ve completed the first CD of the Michel Thomas Polish course, so all in all, it’s been a rather good week. 🙂

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “{Summary} Cultural Buffet Challenge – Week One

  1. Stepping out of the Page

    May 31, 2012 at 14:11

    What a fantastic effort! I love the idea of this challenge. Good luck with it! 🙂
    New to your blog,
    Steph @ Stepping Out of the Page

     
    • wildnightin

      June 2, 2012 at 23:38

      Thanks for the comment. I’ve become a little addicted to reading challenges since I found out about them

      You’re blog looks interesting and I love the owl. 🙂

       
  2. TBM

    June 1, 2012 at 07:28

    Wow…I’m looking forward to the reviews.

     
    • wildnightin

      June 6, 2012 at 09:54

      🙂 I’m slowly getting them done.

       
  3. Iris

    June 3, 2012 at 09:06

    11 books in one week? I am stunned.

     
    • thelupinelibrarian

      June 3, 2012 at 18:23

      I second that! Good job 🙂

       
      • wildnightin

        June 6, 2012 at 09:55

        Thanks. 🙂 I feel as though I should get some gold stars and make a reading chart.

         
      • thelupinelibrarian

        June 6, 2012 at 14:55

        Haha, I was totally going to do something similar for the 48 hour book challenge, but then I thought it was too much. Now you have me reconsidering that idea 🙂

         
      • wildnightin

        June 7, 2012 at 13:05

        If you’re giving up 30 hours of time to read, then you totally deserve rewards and to make it even more fun than it’ll be. 🙂

         
    • wildnightin

      June 6, 2012 at 09:56

      Hehe, it’s the perks of having a summer holiday. 🙂

       

Speak your mind!

 
Flavia the Bibliophile

A blog about books, TV, movies, makeup, and travel!

An Armchair By The Sea

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Jesse Tavistock

Culture, Music, Life and Ideas

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Northwest Mamahood

Appreciate & Support Parenthood in the PNW

