RSS

WWW Wednesday reads

04 Apr

 WWW Wednesday, as hosted by should be reading:

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

 

What are you currently reading?
I’ve just started Neil Gaiman’s American Gods and so far I’m not too enthusiastic about it. To be fair, I have somehow contracted man flu and find reading with a headache a bit of a drag. I’m also reading Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin in the hope that I can overtake the television series.

What did you recently finish reading?
Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare. I’ve started to like steampunk literature against my will recently and this series is one of my favourites so far.
 
What do you think you’ll read next?
L’Amant [The Lover} by Duras (for class) and L’Etoile de Kazan [Star of Kazan] by Eva Ibbotson. It’s a YA book about an orphan called Annika who is raised by a family in Vienna. Only her mother isn’t dead and turns up out of the blue to take her back to her home in Germany. It looks really good.

What are you reading? Or hoping to read? Any reading woes or wins recently? Feel free to comment and say! 🙂

 
19 Comments

Posted by on April 4, 2012 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “WWW Wednesday reads

  1. Philippa

    April 4, 2012 at 11:59

    I have to admit I really liked American Gods! Its been awhile since I read it but it was the first Gaiman novel I tried and I just thought it was really unique.

    I also love Clockwork Prince – infact I love all the Cassie Clare books I just can’t put them down 🙂

    Here’s a link to my WWW if you have some time to stop by!
    http://www.teadaydreamsandfairytales.com/2012/04/www-wednesday-1/

     
    • wildnightin

      April 5, 2012 at 12:05

      I’m going to give it a few hundred pages and see if I’m still unsure about it. Normally I really enjoy Gaiman’s work. Which other books by him have you read?

      Oh yes, Cassandra Clare is super-addictive. 😀

      Thanks for dropping in. I’ll go and check your WWW out now. 🙂

       
  2. Irish

    April 4, 2012 at 12:06

    I *LOVED* Clockwork Prince…I think its Clare’s best work to date. And I really liked Game of Thrones. I’m in the middle of Clash of Kings…really need to find time to finish it!

    My WWW Wednesday is here

     
    • wildnightin

      April 5, 2012 at 13:43

      I totally agree about Clockwork Prince. It’s just so compelling 🙂 I can’t wait to get started on Clash of Kings. Are you watching the TV series too?

       
  3. TBM

    April 4, 2012 at 12:51

    I hope you feel better. I have some Clare novels on my shelf that I keep meaning to get to. Good to know you like the series.

     
    • wildnightin

      April 5, 2012 at 13:48

      Thanks. I’ve been drinking so much honey and lemon ‘tea’ that I think I must be changing colour. Fortunately it’s working. 🙂

      Clare’s worth a read, although if you’re not too keen on references to the Bible then you may not like it so much.

       
  4. Marie Malyon

    April 4, 2012 at 16:03

    I defiantly recognised the name Cassandra Clare so I must of read one of her book in the past, but seeing the name here today I will have to go back and find out which!

    I started reading Fateful Cheri Smidt on a train journey a couple of weeks ago and didn’t get past the first chapter it was so awful. This is very unusual for me as I hate to not finish a book so I have put it in a new categorie on my Kindle: Not Sure!

    If you get a chance to have a look you can read my WWW here: http://ow.ly/a4RFh

     
    • wildnightin

      April 5, 2012 at 14:19

      She’s writing 2 series right now. One of them’s set in modern-day America, the other in Victorian England. I really hope that they get made into films (just so I can pick them apart and enjoy watching them).

      Ooo! That sounds a good idea. I think I’ll add that category for e-books as I’ve got so many of them and some of them don’t appeal to me as much as others do.

      I like your site and am now watching you. 🙂

       
  5. Peek a booK (@peekabook2011)

    April 4, 2012 at 21:03

     
  6. Kwizgiver

    April 4, 2012 at 21:26

    Oh, I hope you’re much better by now! I’ve been wanting to read that Neil Gaiman book. I will have to check it out!

     
    • wildnightin

      April 5, 2012 at 14:32

      I’m getting better with lots of lemon and honey ‘tea’. 🙂 Thanks for the good wishes.

      Neil Gaiman’s always worth a read- I’m sure I’m going to start really liking the book in a bit. 🙂

       
  7. katybrandes

    April 4, 2012 at 23:16

    Give “American Gods” a bit to get into it. It wasn’t one of my favorites of his, even though it was his first work I read.

    I’ve felt the same way about steampunk but should maybe give it a try.

    Feel better!

    http://katybrandes.wordpress.com/2012/04/04/www-wednesdays-apr-4/

     
    • wildnightin

      April 5, 2012 at 14:43

      I’ll give it a few hundred more pages. I’m sure it’ll grow on me.

      Thank goodness I’m not the only one to feel that way about steampunk. Most of my friends from back home really like Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. I’ve glanced at it but it feels oddly sacreligious to put zombies and Mr Darcy in the same book.

      I’m mostly better 😀 Two lemons have been sacrificed and it’s working!

       
  8. MycheleAnjelica

    April 5, 2012 at 13:27

    I like you even more now that you mentioned Clockwork Prince! I loved that book, I love all her books. Come again to visit and I hope you feel better.

     
    • wildnightin

      April 5, 2012 at 14:49

      🙂 Clockwork Prince is brilliant- I can’t wait for the third book to be published.
      Thanks for the good wishes. Have a great week and speak soon. 🙂

       
  9. Alison

    April 5, 2012 at 13:48

    The Star of Kazan is really good! I read it a week or so ago. If you like mysteries in huge manors with loveable characters, you’ll enjoy it too. 🙂

     
    • wildnightin

      April 5, 2012 at 14:45

      I’m doubly excited now. 🙂 Did you post a review for it?

       
      • Alison

        April 5, 2012 at 14:47

        I have a review in my drafts! I’m not sure when it will be posted. Soon-ish!

         

Speak your mind!

 
Flavia the Bibliophile

Book, TV, beauty reviews, and more!

An Armchair By The Sea

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Jesse Tavistock

Culture, Music, Life and Ideas

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Northwest Mamahood

Appreciate & Support Parenthood in the PNW

