RSS

WWW Wednesday Reads – 28th March 2012

28 Mar

WWW Wednesday, as hosted by shouldbereading

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?
I’m reading Plus tard, tu comprendras, [you’ll understand later] by Jérome Clément as my bed-time book. It is all about a man who’s going through his recently-deceased mother’s belongings and finds lots of papers detailing what happened to her parents during WWII. It sounds dry maybe, but I find it fascinating and movingly written.

My second book is Chanter la langue d’oc en Provence à la fin du XXe siècle, [singing in Occitan in Provence at the end of the 20th century] by Elisabeth Cestor. I’m really cheesed off with myself for not finding this book sooner as it supports some parts of my dissertation that I’d been unable to support before. I now have to re-write the bones of my literature review.

I’m also reading Lost Tales of Ga’Hoole by Kathryn Lasky as slowly as I can because I don’t want to finish the series.

What did you recently finish reading?
1Q84 by Haruki Murakami: I finished the 1st book yesterday but can’t quite face reading the sequels yet because the content is quite challenging and keeps making me weep.

I finally finished reading Sienkiewicz’s Les Chevaliers Teutoniques after over two weeks!

 

What do you think you’ll read next?
As soon as I’ve finished the books I’m on (and have read L’Amant for class), I’m going to start to focus on reading articles from back copies of the Languages magazines that I have subscriptions for. I need to get this Literature Review re-written DX

 

 

What are you reading? Or hoping to read? Any reading woes or wins recently?
Feel free to comment and say! 🙂

 
9 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2012 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 responses to “WWW Wednesday Reads – 28th March 2012

  1. katybrandes

    March 28, 2012 at 18:53

    Hi, there! “Plus tard, tu Comprendras” sounds very poignant. I’m a sucker for that type of historical fiction, but I’d be crying, too.

    Mine is at http://katybrandes.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=316&action=edit&message=1.

     
    • wildnightin

      March 29, 2012 at 10:45

      Hello. Historical fiction is excellent when it’s well written. This one’s even sadder as it’s all true. 😦

       
  2. Kwizgiver

    March 28, 2012 at 21:47

    The Clément book sounds really interesting. I don’t know if I’m up for 1Q84, I might have to wait until school’s out.

     
    • wildnightin

      March 29, 2012 at 10:33

      It is growing on me. I think they made a film version starring Jeanne Moreau. 1Q84 is definitely a commitment. Do you have time to read right now or do you have too much school work?

       
      • Kwizgiver

        March 30, 2012 at 00:58

        I’m reading text book samples, trying to choose for next year. But hopefully I will be able to read it during summer vacation.

         
      • wildnightin

        March 30, 2012 at 20:53

        Good luck with choosing text books. What subject/s do you teach?

         
      • Kwizgiver

        March 30, 2012 at 22:27

        I teach high school social studies–and I’m looking for a new Advanced Placement US History text. Such a challenge to find just the right one!

         
    • wildnightin

      March 29, 2012 at 10:30

      Thank you! Just heading over there now. 🙂

       

Speak your mind!

 
Flavia the Bibliophile

A blog about books, TV, movies, makeup, and travel!

An Armchair By The Sea

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Northwest Mamahood

Appreciate & Support Mamahood

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

