RSS

Top Ten Tuesday – Books worth skiving for

27 Mar

Spring Fever: Top Ten Books I’d Play Hooky With
as hosted by The Broke and The Bookish


I would skive university with all the books below… even if I have already done so. 😉

1)      North and South – Elizabeth Gaskell
This is my favourite spring, summer, autumn and winter re-read. It’s not as famous as Pride and Prejudice, but it has a power to it that always makes me smile. Plus it has an extract of one of Tennyson’s poems in it.

2)      The Water Room – Christopher Fowler
I miss London from time to time. Not just the big, modern, shiny, superficial place, but the history behind it. Christopher Fowler’s way of writing about my favourite capital makes me fall in love with it all over again. Plus, he makes encyclopaedic knowledge cool.

3)      To the Lighthouse – Virginia Woolf
Spring and sad poetry are always linked in my mind (blame Ted Hughes and Webster ‘much possessed by death’ 😉 ) and the middle section with its description of WWI and nervous breakdowns is oddly poetic.

4)      Any book of poetry by Paul Celan
One author wrote that Celan and Baudelaire were visionaries who put all the shattered realities that they had lived through into the most powerful poetry he’d ever read. Celan’s work is almost always a punch in the guts, especially Todesfuge, but this Spring I’d like to re-read his earlier Romanian work

5)      The Guardians of Ga’Hoole (Series) – K. Lasky
Is this bad? I’ve just finished book 15 and I want to re-read it already. Slightly repetitive in places, but the story makes me feel like the wonder I did when I was a little girl.

6)      Plus tard, tu comprendras – Jerome Clément
I started reading this earlier in the week and all I want to do is finish it… sadly I can’t skive to be with this book as I have a grammar test next week. Would that exams weren’t important!

7)      Terre Noire (Series) – M. Honaker
YA book set in the dying days of the Russian Empire (when they still had a Tsar). The lyricism of the prose and the exciting main characters make this a series to read.

8)      The Invention of Hugo Cabret – Brian Selznick
I first heard of this one on The Lupine Librarian both the film and book look good. I’m not actively searching for the book yet as I don’t know if there’s an English language copy to be had in the region and I really want to read it in my mother tongue.

9)      Murder at Mansfield Park– Lynn Shepherd
I’m still waiting for this one to come through! It looks so, so good though that I have already ‘booked’ time off writing my thesis for reading it when it arrives.

10)  Complete Works of T.S. Eliot
I miss hearing the proper RP English accents that I grew up with. Although Eliot was American, I grew up hearing his poetry recited and read with an English accent and became accustomed to it. I would totally skive to speak British-English with someone but, as I can’t, Eliot’s exceptional way with words and rhythm will just have to do.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2012 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday – Books worth skiving for

  1. katybrandes

    March 27, 2012 at 22:14

    How sad is it that I haven’t read a single title you mentioned!?! 🙂

     
    • wildnightin

      March 28, 2012 at 09:23

      Nah, it’s cool- it means we’re both supporting twice as many authors by reading and mentioning them as opposed to… not. Plus we may both have The Book Thief in common one day! 😛

       
  2. readerbuzz

    March 27, 2012 at 22:44

    I love how unique your choices are! It makes me happy to think that you are out in the world, reading!

    Here’s my
    Top Ten Books I’d Play Hooky With.
    Hope you will stop by!

     
    • wildnightin

      March 28, 2012 at 09:35

      Thank you. You have Spanish in your blog and you’re going to Italy! Thanks for stopping by! You have made my day. 🙂

       
  3. katybrandes

    March 27, 2012 at 22:46

    I did learn a new word, though … skive. Never heard of it before. We always called it “ditching,” “skipping,” or “playing hooky.” lol

     
    • wildnightin

      March 28, 2012 at 09:32

      ‘Playing hooky’ sounds fun and quite skilled. I can imagine people sitting around and saying, ‘well, I’ve played the violin since I was 3’ and one very out-of-place person replying ‘well, I was a late starter, but I’ve been playing hooky on and off for the past six years’.

      ‘To skive’ can also mean ”to reduce the thickness [of a material]’, so it’s an odd word.

       
  4. Briana

    March 27, 2012 at 22:47

    I started reading To the Lighthouse, but I just sort of…stopped. I might try picking it up again sometime. I’m afraid I’m not always good about reading more modern classics (post-1900!)

     
    • wildnightin

      March 28, 2012 at 09:47

      It’s not an easy book to like. I wouldn’t have picked it up in the first place if I hadn’t have had to do course-work on it at school. But hey, reading is all about enjoyment or learning stuff and if you don’t like it, don’t force yourself to read it.

      What sort of novels do you like? o.O pre-1900 is a massive category. What do you like about them?

       
  5. thelupinelibrarian

    March 29, 2012 at 22:17

    Thanks for the shout-out! Yes, The Invention of Hugo Cabret may be (in my humble opinion) one of the best books of all time. Sadly, I have not read the others on your list. I am always looking for suggestions, though. To the Lighthouse has been on my TBR list for a while…maybe I’ll get around to reading it one of these days.

     
    • wildnightin

      March 30, 2012 at 21:04

      You’re welcome, your blog’s always got books that I want to reach through the screen and grab. The only English version of The Invention of Hugo Cabret that I can find is the film version but I feel slightly strange about watching 2 films without having read the books first.
      To the Lighthouse was really hard for me to get through the first time round. If/ when you get around to reading it, I’d be interested to hear about how you found it.

       
  6. thelupinelibrarian

    March 31, 2012 at 22:51

    I would send you a copy of The Invention of Hugo Cabret, but it’s very heavy…you wouldn’t want to have to fit it in your suitcase at the end of the school year!

    I read part of A Room of One’s Own a while ago and enjoyed it, so I’m open to reading something by Virginia Woolf. Considering that A Room of One’s Own is only a little over 100 pages, maybe I’ll revisit it before I try To the Lighthouse.

    I just finished a book and am in that weird in between stage of grieving the book and looking for the next great read :/

     
    • wildnightin

      April 2, 2012 at 18:42

      That’s really kind of you, thanks. 🙂 I have no idea as to how I’m going to fit all my things in the car to get home. I think I’m going to have to find good homes for some of the books I’ve picked up along the way here.

      I never got around to reading A Room of One’s Own but it does sound like a good read. I think I’ll try to sneak that one in over the weekend.

      Oh no! 😦 Have you got any contenders for the challenge of being the next great read? Which book was it that you were grieving?

       
      • thelupinelibrarian

        April 2, 2012 at 20:15

        I’ve just finished Caddy’s World and Wonder (both fantastic juvenile fiction books to be reviewed soon…) I ended up rediscovering an unusual collection of short stories. I really needed a book for adults to change it up a little-and I love short stories, in fact, I think they may be my favorite 🙂

         

Speak your mind!

 
Flavia the Bibliophile

Book, TV, beauty reviews, and more!

An Armchair By The Sea

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Jesse Tavistock

Culture, Music, Life and Ideas

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Northwest Mamahood

Appreciate & Support Parenthood in the PNW

