RSS

Just saw The Hunger Games…

26 Mar

Hello over-nineteens!  Did you feel pain when you watched any film from the Twilight Series?  Experience hysterical laughing fits when the Bella-Edward-Werewolf Guy love triangle was really kicking in?  Wish at any point that the main female character was a little more empowered?  Maybe you still wish you could re-write the dialogue or plot?

If you answered ‘yes’ to one or more of the above, you are probably experiencing post-Twilight Syndrome. There is only one cure: go and watch The Hunger Games.

Admittedly, the film does raise several questions that I’m hoping the book series will answer. Firstly, the militia seems to have a fair amount of military power but it seems not to scare the people in the regions as much as I expected (no deutsch Blicke  when Katniss is talking to her sister in the street at the start)

Secondly, issues such as indoctrination haven’t been dwelt on. There is of course the acceptance of the annual Hunger Games, but surely if it had been effective, Primrose would not have publicly expressed fear about being chosen to represent her district and try to win them some food.

Despite this, the film has quite a lot of strong points. The script is strong, the acting is very good and the costumes are outlandish and make quite a beautiful point about our society (as well as the dystopian one, of course). The politics and political message delivered are touched but not dwelt on in depth. I’d like to think that this could entice some people to go away and read more dystopian or political fiction (1984 or 1Q84 spring to mind).

The concept of the Games works well as it shows that Katniss to be not merely a survivor but a heroine in the true sense of the word. She sacrifices herself to save someone she loves and she appears willing to risk everything she has for someone she’s never met.

Basically, she’s one of those people you can’t help but respect, even if you don’t know much about them.

I’m off to read the books now. 😉

What do you think of The Hunger Games? Have you seen the film or read the books? Have you found a YA series that you feel is better than this one? Share it!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2012 in Films

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “Just saw The Hunger Games…

  1. dappledbutterfly

    March 26, 2012 at 21:23

    I wished for all those thing watching Twilight. I could only read and watch the first installment before the amount of suspended disbelief became farcical. There was so much eye rolling going on I was in danger of becoming ‘obnoxious person of the week’ (not to mention very unpopular with my sister). But The Hunger Games seems to have a bit more going for it so I may give it a try…

     
    • wildnightin

      March 27, 2012 at 19:14

      You poor person! At least you didn’t have to see all of the films that’ve been released up until now. I’m not sure that The Hunger Games is the greatest piece of YA lit. out there, but it was a very big step in the right direction. 🙂

       
  2. thelupinelibrarian

    March 27, 2012 at 19:42

    So glad that you enjoyed the movie. I was just wondering aloud the other day if people would go out and read the book after seeing the movie…I guess I have my answer! Looking forward to your Hunger Games book review 🙂

     
    • wildnightin

      March 27, 2012 at 20:54

      Reading your review also gave me a little push to go and see it. I always tell myself that I can only see the film after reading the book/s (I think that’s how Mum got me to read so much when I was little!) so it’s a little strange to be persuaded to read the books by the film.. I hope that it has the same effect on other people too!

       
  3. Briana

    March 27, 2012 at 22:49

    I’ve actually been wondering how the movie would look to people who haven’t yet read the book. I thought it made a few assumptions that most of the audience would have and didn’t explain everything as well as possible.

     
    • wildnightin

      March 28, 2012 at 18:03

      Which parts did you feel were under-explained? Most people seemed not to like the flash-backs, for example, but I liked the way that part of the story played out as it developed the guy’s character more slowly and didn’t make the audience think ‘well he’s a git for feeding her the way he fed the pigs’.

       
  4. thelupinelibrarian

    March 29, 2012 at 14:58

    Speaking of movies…are you familiar with Pedro Almodovar’s work? I’m guessing you probably are, considering your interest in the Spanish language and foreign films. I just saw his most recent film, El Piel Que Habito (The Skin I Live In). What an amazing (and disturbing) movie! Have you seen it?

     
    • wildnightin

      March 30, 2012 at 20:42

      I keep meaning to rent that one out- the poster looked quite terrifying and reminded me of Abre Los Ojos for some reason. I’ll bump it up the TBW list 🙂
      Do you have many foreign-film screenings in your area or do you have to rent/ but the dvds? (Sorry for the question- in France the discussion about whether English speakers watch foreign-language films comes up quite frequently and I don’t know what the situation’s like in the States).

       
  5. thelupinelibrarian

    March 31, 2012 at 22:45

    Well, I can really only speak for Maine (a small state that is kind of behind the times compared to more populated areas of the country), but I usually have to wait until foreign films come out on DVD 😦 For example, El Piel Que Habito was playing for a week at a theater that’s about two hours away from my house. I really wanted to go see it, but there just wasn’t time. However, we do have a couple of smaller theaters in my area (one is a combo movie theater/pizza place!) that are more open to foreign films.

    I’m sure in bigger cities in the U.S. where there is more demand for foriegn movies there are theaters who cater to people who don’t mind reading subtitles 🙂

    English movies shown in France have subtitles, right? On my very brief visit there I remember seeing a movie. I can’t stand dubbed movies…what do you think of them?

     
    • wildnightin

      April 2, 2012 at 18:59

      It’s a shame to have to have to wait sometimes to watch the films you want. Is it the same with American-made art house style films? Wait… pizza and films under one roof? I am so envious… surely no city cinema can compete with that. Here you’re lucky to get either salted or sweet popcorn and any noisy chewing is greeted with exasperated sighs from anyone who can hear it. (I’m just glad that I wasn’t the poor person whose ‘phone rang part of the way through one film).

      It depends on the film as to whether or not it’s been dubbed. In both of the art-house cinemas in town, films are subtitled but in the cinema that has all the films that they expect to be hits, they do dubbing. Normally I can’t stand dubbing- I spend too much time trying to lip-read and wondering what sorts of speech inflections I’m missing in the dubbed version, but I liked watching the 4th Twilight film in French.

      What’s your opinion of subtitles and dubbing?

       
      • thelupinelibrarian

        April 2, 2012 at 20:28

        The movie theater I mentioned is Reel Pizza (great name, right?) They even have couches up front near the screen.

        Personally, I’m not a fan of dubbed movies. If it’s a Spanish movie, I can usually understand most of it (and I love listening to spoken Spanish anyway). Even if the movie is in a language that I don’t understand, I feel that dubbing takes away from the intended mood-because language is a big part of that.

        That said, sadly there are some Americans who refuse to watch foreign films because they “don’t like to read.” Most of these people don’t like to read, period, not just during a film, so I can’t really relate to their point of view!

        I do enjoy watching American movies dubbed in Spanish-I watched Twilight that way and it was hilarious 🙂

         

Speak your mind!

 
Flavia the Bibliophile

A blog about books, TV, movies, makeup, and travel!

An Armchair By The Sea

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Northwest Mamahood

Appreciate & Support Mamahood

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

