RSS

WWW Wednesday reads

21 Mar

WWW Wednesday, as hosted by shouldbereading

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?
I’ve just started 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami. As the only English-language version I could find was an e-book, I feel quite twitchy. There’s something about being told I’m 12% of the way through 21,994 pages that scares me.

 I’m just finishing The Arabian Nights (Lang’s translation). The interweaving of all the stories is genius.
What did you recently finish reading?
Cahier d’un retour au pays natal by Aimé Césaire. Expect a review soon!

 
What do you think you’ll read next?
I think I’ve got enough reading to do for the moment, but I’ve just bought the most beautiful copy of Le Tour du monde en 80 jours  I’m going to start that one as my ‘Foreign Language Bed-time Book’ as soon as I’ve finished the my book on the Teutonic Knights.

What are you reading? Or hoping to read? Any reading woes or wins recently? Feel free to comment and say! 🙂

 
17 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2012 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , ,

17 responses to “WWW Wednesday reads

  1. katybrandes

    March 21, 2012 at 14:58

    I absolutely know what you mean with the daunting e-book percentage! Your blog has an awesome look, btw.

    Mine is at http://katybrandes.wordpress.com/2012/03/21/www-wednesdays-mar-21/.

     
    • wildnightin

      March 21, 2012 at 15:06

      Yes! Especially after reading for 20 minutes and seeing you’re still only 1% of the way through the novel.

      Your blog looks nice. I think I’ll follow you. 🙂

       
      • katybrandes

        March 21, 2012 at 15:33

        Well, that’s pretty darn cool! I’d love to pick your brain sometime about how to make it less boring. It probably starts with upgrading to Pro, eh?

         
      • wildnightin

        March 21, 2012 at 20:21

        No! Your blog isn’t boring- you’ve got well-written, interesting content and pictures and you know how to just show excerpts on the main page-y thing. I’m only able to post stuff and reply to comments (despite trying to learn). And the word ‘Pro’ looks terrifying. Is that related to kindles or blogging? DX

         
  2. Vicki

    March 21, 2012 at 15:34

    I’m with you on the percentage of ebooks. I’d rather just know what page I’m on.
    Here’s My WWW

     
    • wildnightin

      March 21, 2012 at 20:22

      Precisely! There’s also a wonderful feeling of satisfaction with looking down at a physical book and being able to see and feel how much has been read.

       
  3. Valentina

    March 21, 2012 at 16:52

    Wow, yeah, that would scare me away from reading Murakami on an ereader LOL

    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2012/03/www-wednesday_21.html

     
    • wildnightin

      March 21, 2012 at 20:37

      Ugh, yes.

      I had a few problems posting a comment (I managed to mistype all the characters even though they all look perfectly OK to me over 4 times) so forgive my manners in posting a reply to your link here.. What a lovely blend of fiction and non-fiction. I hope you enjoy all three books (including The Void, when you get round to it). This Mobius Strip of Ifs looks thought-provoking and well-written. If I see a copy, I’ll nab it. 🙂

       
  4. heavenali

    March 21, 2012 at 17:55

    Well I am currently reading a book called ‘A Late Beginner’by Priscilla Napier – an autobiography about the author’s childhood in Egypt – it’s hard to get hold of now though.
    My last read was ‘The Snow Child’ by Eowyn Ivey – I loved it, and I think next it will be ‘Girl Reading’ by Katie Ward.

     
    • wildnightin

      March 21, 2012 at 20:49

      Growing up in Egypt at the turn of the century must have been character-building. I have a strange feeling that we have a book of her poetry at home. Have you got far enough into the book to say whether you’d recommend reading it or not?
      Happy reading!

       
      • heavenali

        March 21, 2012 at 21:13

        Oh yes more than half way through – and would def recommend, if you can get hold of it.

         
  5. dribblingpensioner

    March 21, 2012 at 19:28

    I’m reading a book called Adobe Photoshop and its very hard to understand 🙂

     
    • wildnightin

      March 21, 2012 at 20:56

      Haha! I think I’ll wait until I have my degree before I start to try to learn that language. 🙂 Hope the hard slog pays off.

       
    • wildnightin

      March 21, 2012 at 21:07

      Just heading over there. Are you bi-lingual?

       
  6. Kwizgiver

    March 21, 2012 at 21:39

    I’d really like to read the Murakam book, but I’m a bit intimidated.

     
    • wildnightin

      March 22, 2012 at 09:47

      Don’t be! His writing style makes it easy to just fall into the book.

       

Speak your mind!

 
Flavia the Bibliophile

Book, TV, beauty reviews, and more!

An Armchair By The Sea

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Jesse Tavistock

Culture, Music, Life and Ideas

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Northwest Mamahood

Appreciate & Support Parenthood in the PNW

