RSS

WWW Wednesday reads

14 Mar

WWW Wednesday, as hosted by shouldbereading

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?
I started The Coming of Hoole by Kathryn Lasky this morning. I adore the Guardians of Ga’Hoole series and find this book a brilliant addition to it. It tells the story of Hoole, the founder of the Great Tree of Ga’Hoole (which plays an important role in all the other books).

I’ve also begun The Knights of the Cross by Henryk Sienkiewicz as part of the Eastern European Books challenge. This book is particularly significant in Poland as parallels have been drawn between beating back the Teutonic Knights for the last time and the defeat of the Nazis, indeed it was the first book republished in Poland after the end of WW2.

 
What did you recently finish reading?
The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. The less said about this reading experience, the better…

 
What do you think you’ll read next?
I’m waiting for my copies of Murder at Manfield Park by Lynn Sheperd and Peter the Great by J. Massie and should be trying to fill the time by reading The Arabian Nights and Cahier d’un retour au pays natal by Aimé Césaire.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2012 in Books

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “WWW Wednesday reads

  1. thelupinelibrarian

    March 16, 2012 at 15:14

    Kathryn Lasky lives in Maine! (my state) and I got to see her speak at a conference last April. I should read her series…it’s definitely on my list.

    I know it’s not Wednesday, but…

    What are you currently reading?
    I am still working though the book of essays about The Hunger Games series (The Girl Who was on Fire). Very entertaining if you’ve read all the books (because the essays are full of spoilers) and are obsessed with Katniss’ journey. I’m only slightly obsessed, but it’s still an interesting read.

    What did you recently finish reading?
    Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley. This book won the Printz Award this year and is definitely worth reading. I’m trying to find a way to review it on my blog, without giving a summary because the experience of reading this book was more important than the plot to me and any kind of spoilers would ruin it, I think.

    What do you think you’ll read next?
    I have a bunch of books out at the moment, so I have many choices. There is one called What Was Lost by Catherine O’Flynn that I have wanted to read for a while now. It’s also an adult book, and I try to alternate between youth fiction, juvenile fiction and adult fiction, so that one is probably next on my list!

     
    • wildnightin

      March 17, 2012 at 12:30

      I am highly envious! What’s she like as a speaker?

      Everyone’s talking about the Hunger Games, would you recommend the series? Are the essays by the author or a fan?

      Good luck with writing the review for Where Things Come Back. The title has a nice ring to it.

      It’s nice to alternate between genres. 🙂 Oooo! That one’s been on my TBR pile for a while, thanks for reminding me of its existence!

      Hope you have a great weekend.

       
  2. thelupinelibrarian

    March 17, 2012 at 15:46

    She accepted the Katahdin Award (an award given to a Maine author for life achievement) very graciously and talked about life in Maine. I was surprised that she has lived here for so long. I think she is originally from Indiana.

    Where Things Come Back is a must read for sure…I think I may have to mention it in a post about really really good youth fiction.

    I had to postpone reading What Was Lost because a book I had on reserve came back at the library: Girl Land by Caitlin Flanagan. It’s a study on the adolescent years of teenage girls from as early as the late 1800’s until now. It’s fascinating to see how much has changed and why. For example, I’m reading right now about how the internet (specifically Facebook and other social networking sites) has changed the way that teenage girls reflect. The writer’s claim is that teenage girls who are almost constantly connected to the internet have no private space to escape to…the solitary practice of writing a diary has gone public in the form of blogs and Facebook. Very interesting book if you enjoy non-fiction.

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend, we finally have some decent weather here in Maine, so I am definitely enjoying mine 🙂

     
    • wildnightin

      March 19, 2012 at 20:49

      That’s good to hear. 🙂 Don’t know why, but knowing that authors whose work I enjoy are nice people.

      It’s a shame to hear about you not being able to read What Was Lost now, but Girl Land sounds cutting-edge and must be enlightening. What do you think about Flanagan’s claims about blogging and facebooking replacing writing a diary?

      Thanks. What sort of weather’s ‘decent weather’ in Maine? 🙂 According to the local baker, it’s spring at last. It feels more akin to summer in England right now; I’ve had to get the sun-block out.

       
  3. thelupinelibrarian

    March 17, 2012 at 15:49

    The Hunger Games: yes, I would recommend it if you are looking for an entertaining read. The essays are by youth fiction authors and they focus on different aspects of the series’ popularity (the love triangle, the dystopian society, etc.)

     

Speak your mind!

 
Flavia the Bibliophile

Book reviews, and other bookish goodies.

An Armchair By The Sea

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Jesse Tavistock

Culture, Music, Life and Ideas

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Northwest Mamahood

Appreciate & Support Parenthood in the PNW

