RSS

2012 Reading Challenges

09 Mar

Last year I saw a couple of reading challenges that looked amazing, scribbled their details in my diary and did mini-reviews of the books for myself. They encouraged me to read books I’d not considered before and made me feel as though I were having a healthy reading ‘diet’.

This year I am going to try to read more widely in areas/ genres I’m not so familiar with.

For my reading lists, click the 2nd link in each bullet point, to sign up, click the 1st.

Here we go!

We want YOU to read French authors! – is brilliant for me as I study French and am always trying to read more French literature (whether in translation or the original). I’ve signed up for the Jules Verne level (10 books)

European Reading Challenge – one of the genres I’m hoping to read more of is ‘European literature’ (scarily large genre, I know). I’ve signed up for the Five Star (Deluxe Entourage) Level. (>5 books)

The Eastern European Reading Challenge – is the one that got me hooked on reading challenges. I read 4 books for it last year and am aiming to do the same again this year.

Support Your Local Library – is one close to my heart. Libraries are being closed all over the UK or being run by volunteers. It is saddening to think that a generation of children may lose the chance to enjoy reading through no fault of their own. I’m signing up for level 1 (12 books) but judging by my reading rate, I’m going to read a few more than that…

12 in 12 – is one of the craziest challenges I’ve seen so far. The idea is to create 12 categories and read 12 books for each one as many books as you’d like/ can for each one. Long live reading! (And thanks for the clarification.) 🙂

 
14 Comments

Posted by on March 9, 2012 in 2012 Book Challenges

 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “2012 Reading Challenges

  1. Michael Kindness

    March 9, 2012 at 18:20

    a clarification on the 12 in 12 Reading Challenge… you don’t have to have 12 lists of 12 titles. You could have as few as 1 list of 12 books. It’s entirely up to you… I personally have three lists of 12, but am not thinking I’ll only finish one of those!! 🙂

     
    • wildnightin

      March 9, 2012 at 18:33

      Thanks for the clarification… that was one epic misunderstanding. 🙂 I’ve got three lists of 12 that I’m hoping to get through but I’m a student, so I live in a sort of time void that I’m desperate to fill. Have fun with the reading!

       
  2. Rose City Reader

    March 9, 2012 at 18:59

    Thanks for joining the European Reading Challenge! I look forward to seeing which books you pick.

     
    • wildnightin

      March 9, 2012 at 19:08

      Thanks for thinking up the challenge! I’ll put up a list as soon as I’ve decided which books to read. Which ones have you chosen?

       
  3. Ellie

    March 10, 2012 at 22:58

    My own personal challenge for the year is to support more of my self published friends. I spend so much time editing, I felt I had this area covered, but I realise now I was missing out on so much. There is an enormous amount of talent out there!

     
    • wildnightin

      March 11, 2012 at 11:42

      That sounds like a really good idea. There must be so many brilliant writers who just don’t get the exposure they deserve. At risk of sounding ignorant, how can I find self-published books?

       
      • Ellie

        March 11, 2012 at 19:34

        Which format do you prefer, ebooks or paperback? Are you on Goodreads? and which is your preferred genre if any? – Sorry for so many questions but i want to ensure I direct you in the best direction.

         
      • wildnightin

        March 12, 2012 at 14:39

        Wow! You sound very knowledgable on this. I’m quite into ebooks right now. Yes, I’m on goodreads and I like any genre apart from erotica and sci-fi. Many thanks in advance.

         
      • Ellie

        March 13, 2012 at 20:14

        OK as you are opting for eraeding at the moment, I would reccomend you make a visit to smashwords. This is a site that sells ebooks in all formats, mostly by self published authors. They do not tend to have that many reviews on the site, but when you find something you are interested in, visit goodreads and make a search. it is only a personal opionion but I have found the more serious the writer (and therefore the better quality), the more likely they are to have a goodreads account. The chances are they are also blogging. Most (but not all) authors opt for a book tour so there should be endless reviews all over the place.

        Alternatively, you can just do a search for free books on smashwords. Just because they are free, doesnt mean they are lower quality. Chances are the author has further releases coming up so they are trying to entice a wider readership.

         
      • wildnightin

        March 13, 2012 at 20:59

        Thank you so, so much, this is a treasure trove! Thanks also for explaining about how authors promote their work through goodreads and tours. This is very exciting. 🙂

        I hope that writing is going better for you than it was recently.

         
  4. Lyra Sullyvan

    March 13, 2012 at 07:55

    I’m glad you joined us for the We Want YOU to Read French Author. It’s always nice to hear that people are curious about our country and/or are learning French.
    I hope you’ll enjoy what you read!

     
    • wildnightin

      March 13, 2012 at 18:25

      Non! Merci à vous pour la creation de ce Reading Challenge ! (Comment dit-on ‘reading challenge’ ?)
      J’ai trouvé une collection de livres (pour les enfants/ ados) qui était écrite par Michel Honaker que je voudrais lire. 🙂

       
  5. Ellie

    March 19, 2012 at 19:24

    Thought you may be interested in Charlottes post about free ebooks – some very good tips!

    http://www.charlotteenglish.com/2012/03/19/eight-places-to-get-free-ebooks/#comment-1656

     
    • wildnightin

      March 22, 2012 at 16:32

      This is a great post! Thank you for sharing it!

       

Speak your mind!

 
Flavia the Bibliophile

Book, TV, beauty reviews, and more!

An Armchair By The Sea

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

LIGHTEN UP.

Words helping us unwind!

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Jesse Tavistock

Culture, Music, Life and Ideas

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Northwest Mamahood

Appreciate & Support Parenthood in the PNW

